Welcome to the Virginia Commercial Space Flight Authority
and Mid-Atlantic Regional Spaceport

Board and Staff

Board of Directors

2012 General Assembly Legislation for the Space Flight Authority states the Authority shall be governed by a board of directors consisting of nine members, two of whom shall be the Secretary of Transportation and the Director of the Virginia Department of Aviation, and the remaining seven shall be appointed by the Governor as follows: one representing the business community; one representing the financial industry; one representing the marketing industry, one representing the legal industry; one representing the research and development industry; and two at-large members.

Aubrey Layne (Virginia Secretary of Transportation), Randy Burdette (Director of the Virginia Department of Aviation), Bill Readdy (Chairman), John R. Broderick (President, Old Dominion University), John Jester, Jack Kennedy, Bittle Porterfield, III, Kay Sears, and Tom Young.


Executive Director
Dale Nash
Executive Staff

Deputy Executive Director, VCSFA
Zigmond "Zig" Leszczynski

Director of Finance and Contracting
Kathy Olson

Director of Business Development
Thomas Shearer
MARS Staff

Director, MARS
Sean Mulligan
757-824-3000 ext. 10